E-bike laws in Canada, province by province
Motor power, speed, age, helmet and licence rules for each province and territory, in plain English. Every rule links to the source it comes from, with the date we last checked it.
Latest check: · 13 of 13 provinces and territories published
Compare e-bike rules by province and territory
Pick your province or territory for the full rules: weight limits, throttles, passengers, sidewalks, fines and every source.
What federal law covers
The federal Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations no longer define e-bikes. Until February 4, 2021, they defined a "power-assisted bicycle" (pedals, motor of 500 W or less, no motor help above 32 km/h). That definition was repealed by SOR/2020-22, and the federal government says these vehicles now fall under provincial and territorial rules. Transport Canada still decides how an e-bike is treated when it is imported.
- Until February 3, 2021, subsection 2(1) of the federal Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations defined a "power-assisted bicycle": steering handlebars and pedals; not more than three wheels on the ground; able to be moved by muscle power; one or more electric motors with a total continuous output of 500 W or less; no motor help once the bike reaches 32 km/h on level ground; a permanent bilingual manufacturer's label; and either a separate motor on/off switch or a mechanism that stops the motor from starting below 3 km/h. Source: Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations, C.R.C., c. 1038, s. 2(1) "power-assisted bicycle" (version in force July 1, 2020 to February 3, 2021) (checked )
- Under that old definition, motor help had to stop as soon as the rider stopped pedalling (pedal assist), or as soon as the brakes were applied (when the motor was run by an accelerator controller). Source: Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations, C.R.C., c. 1038, s. 2(1) "power-assisted bicycle" (version in force July 1, 2020 to February 3, 2021) (checked )
- SOR/2020-22, section 3(2), repealed the definitions "power-assisted bicycle" and "restricted-use motorcycle" from the Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations. The regulation was registered on February 4, 2020, and section 35(2) delayed this repeal by one year. Transport Canada says the definition has not been in force since February 4, 2021. Sources: SOR/2020-22, Regulations Amending Certain Regulations Made Under the Motor Vehicle Safety Act (National Safety Marks and Importation), ss. 3(2) and 35(2), and Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement (checked ) ; Importing non-regulated vehicles (power-assisted bicycles section) (checked )
Free e-bike tools
-
Is my e-bike legal?
Enter your e-bike’s watts, speed, pedals, throttle and weight. See each rule for your province: within the limit, over it, or not stated in the law.
-
E-bike range calculator
Estimate how far a charge goes from your battery size, weight, assist level, hills and temperature. Every assumption is on the page.
-
E-bike vs car cost calculator
Compare a year of e-bike charging with fuel for a car and a monthly transit pass, using your own distances and prices.
E-bike law questions
Answers built from the rules on this site, province by province.
What is the maximum motor power for an e-bike in Canada?
Here is the maximum motor power in each province and territory we cover:
500 W: British Columbia , Alberta , Saskatchewan , Manitoba , Ontario , Quebec , New Brunswick , Nova Scotia , Prince Edward Island , Yukon , Northwest Territories
Not stated in the law (see the sources on the page): Newfoundland and Labrador , Nunavut
Each province and territory link opens that rule on its page, with the source and the date we last checked it.
Is a 750 W e-bike legal in Canada?
Comparing 750 W with each motor power limit in our data:
750 W is over the motor power limit in: British Columbia (500 W) , Alberta (500 W) , Saskatchewan (500 W) , Manitoba (500 W) , Ontario (500 W) , Quebec (500 W) , New Brunswick (500 W) , Nova Scotia (500 W) , Prince Edward Island (500 W) , Yukon (500 W) , Northwest Territories (500 W)
No motor power limit stated in the law in: Newfoundland and Labrador , Nunavut
Motor power is only one rule. The e-bike checker tests your bike against all of them for your province: Is my e-bike legal?
Each province and territory link opens that rule on its page, with the source and the date we last checked it.
How fast can an e-bike go in Canada?
Maximum assisted speed for an e-bike, by province and territory:
32 km/h: British Columbia , Alberta , Saskatchewan , Manitoba , Ontario , Quebec , New Brunswick , Nova Scotia , Prince Edward Island , Yukon , Northwest Territories
Not stated in the law (see the sources on the page): Newfoundland and Labrador , Nunavut
Each province and territory link opens that rule on its page, with the source and the date we last checked it.
Do you need a licence to ride an e-bike in Canada?
What each province and territory we cover says about a driver’s licence for e-bike riders:
No licence required: British Columbia , Alberta , Saskatchewan , Manitoba , Ontario , Quebec , New Brunswick , Nova Scotia , Prince Edward Island , Yukon , Northwest Territories
Not stated in the law (see the sources on the page): Newfoundland and Labrador , Nunavut
Each province and territory link opens that rule on its page, with the source and the date we last checked it.
Do you have to wear a helmet on an e-bike in Canada?
Helmet rules for e-bike riders, by province and territory:
Required for all riders: British Columbia , Alberta , Saskatchewan , Manitoba , Ontario , Quebec , New Brunswick , Prince Edward Island , Newfoundland and Labrador
No territorial rule (city bylaws may require one): Yukon , Northwest Territories
Not stated in the law (see the sources on the page): Nova Scotia , Nunavut
Each province and territory link opens that rule on its page, with the source and the date we last checked it.
How old do you have to be to ride an e-bike in Canada?
Minimum rider age, by province and territory:
16 years old: British Columbia , Ontario , Prince Edward Island
12 years old: Alberta
14 years old: Saskatchewan , Manitoba , Nova Scotia
18 years old: Quebec
Not stated in the law (see the sources on the page): New Brunswick , Newfoundland and Labrador , Yukon , Northwest Territories , Nunavut
Exceptions with a lower age in some cases: British Columbia , Quebec
Each province and territory link opens that rule on its page, with the source and the date we last checked it.
Where can you ride in your city?
This site covers provincial and territorial law. For a specific city, see our sister site, Zeus E-Bike Map: where you can ride, city by city.
Published by Zeus Ebikes
ebikelaws.ca is a free guide from Zeus Ebikes, a Canadian online e-bike retailer. Whatever e-bike you choose, compare its motor power and speed with your province’s rules before you ride on public roads.