Menu

Territory · Last checked

E-bike laws in Yukon

Yukon's Motor Vehicles Act calls an e-bike an "electric power-assisted cycle": pedals, up to 3 wheels, electric motors of 500 W or less, no motor help at 32 km/h, a manufacturer's label and a brake on each wheel or axle. It is an "excluded motor vehicle", so the driver's licence, registration and insurance rules do not apply, and the Act sets no helmet rule or minimum age for it. Whitehorse requires a helmet by city bylaw, and a new Traffic Safety Act passed in 2024 is not yet fully in force.

The law in Yukon calls an e-bike an “electric power-assisted cycle”.

This summary comes from the rules below, each with its source and the date we checked it. All sources for Yukon

The rules at a glance

What Yukon’s law says about each e-bike rule, with the source we read and when we checked it.

E-bike rules in Yukon
Rule What the law says Source
Maximum motor power 500 W Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Maximum assisted speed 32 km/h Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Maximum bike weight Not stated in the law — see sources See sources
Working pedals Required Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Throttle Allowed Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Minimum rider age Not stated in the law — see sources See sources
Helmet No territorial rule City bylaws may require one. Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Driver’s licence Not required Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Registration Not required Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Insurance Not required Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Passengers Only on a regular seat meant for a passenger, with the passenger's feet on the foot-rests, and no more people than the cycle is designed or equipped to carry. Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked
Sidewalks No, except to cross at a proper vehicular crossing, unless a municipal bylaw allows it. Whitehorse allows e-bikes on sidewalks only at certain crossings or when the bike lane or road edge is impassable, and never in the downtown core. Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked City of Whitehorse Bylaw 2021-22, E-Bike Regulation Bylaw, ss. 3, 9-24, 31, Schedule B Checked
Where you can ride Highways, riding as near as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway, in single file, and not on a roadway where signs prohibit cycles. Municipalities add rules: in Whitehorse, pedal-assist e-bikes may use all city trails and bike lanes, while throttle e-bikes are limited to paved Type 1 trails, motorized multi-use trails and bike lanes. Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Checked City of Whitehorse Bylaw 2021-22, E-Bike Regulation Bylaw, ss. 3, 9-24, 31, Schedule B Checked

Check your e-bike against these rules

If an e-bike is over the limits

A bike that fails any part of the definition (for example a motor over 500 W, motor help at 32 km/h or more, or no manufacturer's label) is not an electric power-assisted cycle. The Act's "motor cycle" is any two- or three-wheeled vehicle, other than an electric power-assisted cycle or a motorized trail bike, that is self-propelled and designed for roads; motor vehicles, including motor cycles, need registration, an operator's licence and insurance, and motor cycle riders must wear a prescribed helmet. Whitehorse's bylaw has a 750 W / 45 km/h "Class 3" e-bike category, but only for the bylaw's purposes.

Sources: Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) (checked ) ; City of Whitehorse Bylaw 2021-22, E-Bike Regulation Bylaw, ss. 3, 9-24, 31, Schedule B (checked )

Fines and penalties

Good to know

E-bike questions in Yukon

Do you have to wear a helmet on an e-bike in Yukon?

Yukon's Motor Vehicles Act has no helmet rule for bicycles or electric power-assisted cycles. In Whitehorse, a city bylaw requires a bicycle helmet for e-bike riders and passengers, with a $50 set fine.

Sources: Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) (checked ) ; City of Whitehorse Bylaw 2021-22, E-Bike Regulation Bylaw, ss. 3, 9-24, 31, Schedule B (checked )

Do I need a licence, registration or insurance for an e-bike in Yukon?
Is there a minimum age to ride an e-bike in Yukon?
Are throttle e-bikes legal in Yukon?

Yes. The definition allows a motor run by an accelerator controller as long as it cuts out when the brakes are applied, within the 500 W and 32 km/h limits. In Whitehorse, throttle e-bikes are limited to paved Type 1 trails, motorized trails and bike lanes.

Sources: Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) (checked ) ; City of Whitehorse Bylaw 2021-22, E-Bike Regulation Bylaw, ss. 3, 9-24, 31, Schedule B (checked )

Is a 750 W e-bike legal in Yukon?
Can I ride an e-bike on the sidewalk in Yukon?

Generally no: the Act bans driving a vehicle along a sidewalk except at proper crossings, unless a municipal bylaw allows it. Whitehorse allows it only at certain crossings or when the bike lane or road edge is impassable, and never downtown.

Sources: Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) (checked ) ; City of Whitehorse Bylaw 2021-22, E-Bike Regulation Bylaw, ss. 3, 9-24, 31, Schedule B (checked )

What we couldn’t confirm

We leave a rule blank rather than guess. These points still need an official source:

  • laws.yukon.ca and yukon.ca block automated access; the Act and the news release were read from Internet Archive copies (2026-10-23 and 2025-10-25). Check https://laws.yukon.ca by hand for anything newer.
  • min_age: the Act sets none and allows one by regulation (s. 123.02); the Yukon regulations list could not be opened (blocked to automated access), so a regulation cannot be fully ruled out.
  • Ticket amounts for cycle offences: set fines are in the Summary Convictions Regulations and O.I.C. 2025/66, which could not be opened (blocked to automated access).
  • max_weight_kg: no weight limit in the definition (the law says nothing).
  • Whitehorse Bylaw 2021-22: the copy read is the 2021 text; later amendments were not checked. Other Yukon communities may have their own bylaws.
  • E-bike rules may change when the new Traffic Safety Act (SY 2024, c.10) fully replaces the Motor Vehicles Act; the government says several regulations are needed first. Re-check after any in-force announcement.

Sources

The laws and pages we read for Yukon, with the date we last checked each one. How we research.

  1. Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c. 153, s. 1 ("electric power-assisted cycle", "excluded motor vehicle", "motor cycle", "motor vehicle"), ss. 5, 39, 72, 123.02, 145, 199, 211-217, 247 (unofficial consolidation amended to SY 2024, c.10; Internet Archive copy of the laws.yukon.ca PDF, snapshot 2026-10-23) Government of Yukon, Legislative Counsel Office (via Internet Archive) · Official source · Checked
  2. Government of Yukon introduces stronger fines to improve safety on Yukon highways (news release 25-276, June 17, 2025; Internet Archive copy, snapshot 2025-10-25) Government of Yukon (via Internet Archive) · Official source · Checked
  3. City of Whitehorse Bylaw 2021-22, E-Bike Regulation Bylaw, ss. 3, 9-24, 31, Schedule B City of Whitehorse · Official source · Checked

Compare with neighbouring provinces

Zeus Ebikes logo

Published by Zeus Ebikes

ebikelaws.ca is a free guide from Zeus Ebikes, a Canadian online e-bike retailer. Whatever e-bike you choose, compare its motor power and speed with your province’s rules before you ride on public roads.